Monday, October 4, 2010


Distributor: Columbia Records
Release Date: June 22, 2010 (DVD)
Genre: Concert
Running Time: Approx. 180 minutes
MPAA Rating: Unrated

Set List

1. London Calling
2. Badlands
3. Night
4. She’s the One
5. Outlaw Pete
6. Out in the Street
7. Working on a Dream
8. Seeds
9. Johnny 99
10. Youngstown
11. Good Lovin’
12. Bobby Jean
13. Trapped
14. No Surrender
15. Waiting on a Sunny Day
16. Promised Land
17. Racing in the Street
18. Radio Nowhere
19. Lonesome Day
20. The Rising
21. Born to Run
22. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
23. Hard Times (Come Again No More)
24. Jungleland
25. American Land
26. Glory Days
27. Dancing in the Dark
28. Credits (Raise Your Hand)
 BONUS – The River, Glastonbury 2009
 BONUS – Wrecking Ball, Giants Stadium 2009

I’ve been a fan of Bruce Springsteen for as long as I can remember liking music. When I was young I had “Born in the U.S.A.” on tape and I still remember listening to the first three tracks on side one, and then flipping the tape over because when “Darlington County” ends on side one, “Glory Days” begins on side two. I believe I just dated myself.

Three times I’ve seen Springsteen in concert and of course I can’t pick a favorite (though the Vote for Change Tour at Cobo Hall in Detroit in 2004 would probably be it if I were forced to choose). Springsteen is known for marathon concerts in the three hour neighborhood and possessing way more energy than any other 60-year-old on the planet. The Boss and his band from E Street look as if they’re having the time of their life every single time, as if this is where they all belong.

Springsteen leads the band of merry men and women on guitar and lead vocals of course. Joining him is Roy Bittan on the keyboards; Clarence Clemons on saxophone, percussion, and vocals; Nils Lofgren on guitar and vocals; Garry Tallent on bass guitar; Stevie Van Zandt on guitar and vocals; and the mighty Max Weinberg on drums. Joining them are Soozie Tyrell on violin and vocals; Charlie Giordano on accordion, piano, organ, and vocals; and Curtis King Jr. & Cindy Mizelle on vocals and percussion. Oh, and Brian Fallon of the Gaslight Anthem sings with Boss on “No Surrender.”

That’s an 11-piece band, and they’re able to achieve a sonic perfection with each other. I heard once that the band didn’t even know what they were playing but knew which song it was going to be based on how Springsteen counted off.

“London Calling” is a barnburner of a setlist, starting off with a rousing version of The Clash hit that gave the DVD its name and rolling through a number of other classics new and old. Springsteen is generally really great at mixing his old and new material in his concerts and this one is no different.

This concert is currently available on DVD, but I was also able to see it the local art theater here in Montgomery, albeit a truncated version with songs 8-21 and 23 (I think that’s right) cut out. In whatever form you can see it in, fans of Bruce Springsteen will no doubt be pleased with this DVD.

Theater: Capri Theater, Montgomery, Alabama
Time: 730 pm
Date: September 26, 2010

No comments:

Post a Comment